Reviews

What people are saying about Callander Meadows




Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

No complaints. Very comfortable and clean room. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly. Will return!

Response

Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewer: Mr. Alexander Baillie-Hamilton | Thu 13th Oct 2016


Mrs - Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B. Our hosts were very gracious and our breakfast delicious. Our regret is that we stayed there on a night when their restaurant was closed.

Reviewer: Mrs. Diane Wolfe | Thu 29th Sep 2016


Little gem - Rating 4/5

This was a one night stopover enroute to The Highlands. We occupied a twin bedded room whilst our son and his wife took the double. The double was spacious and comfortable whilst the twin bedded room was a little tight for room with a \"quaint\" ensuite. We opted for an evening meal which did not disappoint. Beautifully cooked and presented. All the produce was locally sourced or made in house. The service was excellent and friendly. I would not hesitate to stop here again but I would not have the twin bedded room.

Reviewer: Mrs. Lindy Stokes | Tue 6th Sep 2016


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Great food and a lovely room. Warm and welcoming hosts and as a touring cyclist I really appreciated the advice about the roads I was going to be on later in my trip.

Reviewer: ROBERT WILSON | Tue 16th Aug 2016


Very friendly place with excellent cooking - Rating 5/5

We were welcomed friendly and enjoyed or stay in the trossachs. The meals were excellent, including the multiple options at breakfast. The room was fine, although a bit bigger would have been fine for a family of 3.

Reviewer: Muller | Thu 11th Aug 2016


Comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

The room was comfortable and included an en suite shower / toilet, TV and tea-making facilities. Pleasant view across the valley from the back window. No on-site parking available but I was given a permit to park at the station car park 5 minutes walk away. It was a pity that I couldn\'t sample the cuisine as they had a private function that night; maybe next time!

Reviewer: Mr. Chris Pointer | Wed 10th Aug 2016


Nice stay - Rating 5/5

Nice rooms, excellent dinner, very friendly staff. Callander Meadows was a really good experience - thanks!

Reviewer: Mr. Gabriel Aeschbacher | Fri 5th Aug 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

What a fabulous place we were a party of 10 we booked 3 rooms , the rooms are lovely very welcoming place we were really looked after & breakfast was very good , Great location would deff stay again !!!! Thank you very much

Reviewer: Henderson | Sun 24th Jul 2016


great food, ambiance and rooms - Rating 5/5

the quality of hosting, restaurant, and rooms makes the meadows a fantastic place to chill out and entertain customers after a days work. Everything you get is \"real\" and \"personal not \"vanilla corporate\"

Reviewer: Mr. tim tindle | Fri 22nd Jul 2016


Room average but good value - Rating 3/5

One night stay, convenient location, easy parking, room was not great but excellent breakfast and warm welcome. Good value for money.

Reviewer: Mr. Chris Hathaway | Fri 22nd Jul 2016


Rainy weekend in Callander - Rating 5/5

Despite the weather we had a very enjoyable weekend spent in comfort in rooms 1,4 snd the very impressive, 3. Dinner was lovely too!

Response

Thank you for your kind words we look forward to catering for you again in the future

Reviewer: Mrs. Bryony Monaghan | Mon 4th Jul 2016


Stopover at Callander Meadows - Rating 4/5

Our brief stay at this 200 year old town house in central Callander was certainly pleasant, and our room was comfortable and well appointed. Susannah and her staff were very friendly, and very accommodating when it came to our dog, and for that we are very grateful! Unfortunately we didn\'t get the chance to eat in the restaurant, but the breakfast selection was varied and very tasty! The only negative experience was the noise from late evening revellers from the pub opposite, congregating in the street outside the property. This was unfortunate, as there was little our hosts could do to address this. Overall a pleasant experience, thank you.

Response

Thank you for your kind words (Sorry about the noise local wedding i think )

Reviewer: Penfold | Tue 7th Jun 2016


two-night stay - Rating 5/5

very enjoyable stay. lovely comfortable room and excellent food. thank you

Reviewer: Ian Terry | Sun 15th May 2016


lovely stay - Rating 5/5

very friendly owners. well situated, easy to find. Large room, small bathroom. Absolutely great food. We had breakfast and dinner there and the owner is definitely a great chef.

Reviewer: Mr. PASCAL FOUGEROUSE | Mon 9th May 2016


Great Food - Rating 4/5

Really lovely hotel, centrally located & ideal base for shops & walks nearby. Stayed 2 nights with breakfast & evening meal on one night - food was great- Susannah very welcoming along with other hotel staff.

Reviewer: Mrs. Linda McGillivray | Tue 1st Mar 2016


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay, owners made us very welcome, rooms great, fantastic breakfast. Thank You both.

Response

Thank you very much for your kind words, it was very nice having a happy family atmosphere while your family and friends stayed the weekend. We hope to see you again

Reviewer: Briggs | Thu 19th Nov 2015


Oustanding Stay - Rating 5/5

this has to be the best place we\'ve stayed for friendly welcome hospitality and the food is by far 5 star and above. if you don\'t go for the stay book the restaurant and eat. fantastic !!!!!!

Response

Thanks for your very kind words we are delighted you enjoy your stay here in beautiful Callander

Reviewer: Mr. stephen moore | Mon 9th Nov 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Pasamos una noche en Callander Meadows. Las habitaciones son acogedoras y agradables. La cocina es excelente, buena relación calidad-precio. La familia atenta y amable, así como todo el personal. Un lugar maravillosos como punto de partida para excursiones en un paisaje infinito

Response

thank you for your kind review

Reviewer: Mrs. Doris Moreno | Tue 1st Sep 2015


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Only stayed one night unfortunately could have stayed longer lovely room,beautiful breakfast and owners very very helpful we asked to have our breakfast a lot earlier and it was no problem would recommend staying here we will be back. Thanks to Nick and Susannah xx

Reviewer: Mandy Campbell | Sun 16th Aug 2015


Wonderful Hotel - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at Callander Meadows many times now. Every time, we have been met with friendliness and great hospitality from Nick and Susannah. The rooms are all beautiful, comfortable and perfectly clean and spotless and the food is superb. The surrounding area is spectacular, and wonderful for walking or cycling, whether you want easy or more challenging routes. We will certainly be booking again. Thank you Nick and Susannah. Teresa and Pete

Reviewer: Mrs. Teresa McIntyre | Mon 8th Jun 2015


Callander Meadows 13th May - Rating 4/5

Just home from our stay at the Callander meadows, we thought the hotel was lovely and in an excellent location . The owners Nick and Susannah were very friendy and helpful and we feel that nothing would be too much effort for them, we ate in the hotel restaurant where the food, in particular the steak, was amazing, we would definitely return amd will be recomending the hotel

Reviewer: Miss. Clare Squires | Sat 16th May 2015


Lovely place to stay - Rating 4/5

Great food, comfortable beds, friendly hosts.

Reviewer: Mr. Graeme McNeill | Sun 4th Jan 2015


Couldn\'t do enough - Rating 4/5

My mother and I stayed here as a stopover on our way further north. Our hosts could not have been more friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was excellent , looking forward to staying for dinner next time. Thanks again will see you next year.

Response

Thank you for your kind words having guest stay like you and your mother makes doing this job worth while. Look forward to cooking for you on your next visit to Scotland

Reviewer: Vickie Henry | Wed 12th Nov 2014


Wonderful find! - Rating 5/5

Lovely spot. Amazing dinner at restaurant and delicious breakfast. Nick was very attentive and a delight to talk with. Only suggestion might be including a hairdryer in the rooms. A lovely place. Very welcoming!

Response

Thank you for your kind words we have replaced the hairdryer in the room.

Reviewer: Mr. Paul Fitzpatrick | Sat 6th Sep 2014


Very Good! - Rating 4/5

Room and hotel was excellent and directly on Main Street so didn't have to drive all weekend. Breakfast was also very good but didn't eat in hotel in the evening over the weekend as wanted to explore the surrounding area. Room was tidy and spacious, staff were very friendly and helpfull. Would definitely recommend for a weekend/short stay as we did and will be returning in the future maybe as a family next time. (Cons) Very minor but four poster bed a bit squeaky when turning over etc, toilet quite noisy and TV signal initially wasn't great but once mentioned it was sorted out promptly and didn't bother us for a 2 night stay.

Response

Thank you very much for your kind words. We have noted your comments as points to action, thank once again for staying at Callander meadows

Reviewer: Mr. John Collins | Sun 31st Aug 2014


Stop off - Rating 3/5

Good location for our requirements, dog friendly, welcoming hosts, food excellent. One or two small details lacking in the room. Mattress on bed unsupportive and uncomfortable.

Reviewer: James Noblett | Wed 20th Aug 2014


Un endroit charmant - Rating 5/5

Très joli endroit qui mêle raffinement et simplicité. Un accueil chaleureux, une cuisine excellente, et une petite ville pleine de charme. Si vous passez par là: arrêtez-vous un peu, vous ne regretterez pas!

Reviewer: Mr. Arnaud Marsollier | Fri 15th Aug 2014


Great! - Rating 5/5

Great place, great town, great hosts, great food! What's not to love? Located in the heart of town. Lots to see and do. We stayed for two nights and wished we'd been able to stay for a week. Meeting Nick and Susannah was one of the highlights.

Response

thank you very much for your kind words

Reviewer: Ms. Shelley Brown | Mon 4th Aug 2014


Good food - Rating 3/5

Typical B & B rooms, a bit small and old fashioned. Dinner and breakfast were pretty good though.

Reviewer: Mr. Doug Yorke | Sun 27th Jul 2014


1 night in callander - Rating 5/5

Our stay in callander was a very good experience for our day in scotland. We slept in a confortable and quiet room and we had dinner in the restaurant. the cooking was brillant and for a reasonnable price for the quality. the garden behind the hotel is charming.

Response

We are glad you enjoyed your stay thank you

Reviewer: Mr. Perisse Didier | Thu 10th Jul 2014


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Our room was charming with a four poster bed and huge walk-in shower. The owners Nick and Susannah are very friendly and welcoming hosts. Food is superb. Wish we could have enjoyed two nights of such warm hospitality and excellent cuisine. Unfortunately we had to cut our weekend short due to work commitments. Would highly recommend this wee gem of a place! We will definitely stay there again.

Response

Thank you for your kind words look forward to you visiting again Nick, Susannah & all the staff at Callander Meadows

Reviewer: Mrs. Alison Lynch | Sat 28th Jun 2014


adi - Rating 3/5

good nights rest,food is first class superb

Reviewer: Mr. Adrian Breeman | Wed 11th Jun 2014


one night stay after long days walking - Rating 4/5

Nice room, a bit noisier our the from than the back but not bad. rooms nice. Shame there is no bath

Reviewer: Dr. Moira Wright | Sat 24th May 2014


Callander Meadows - Rating 5/5

The rooms were excellent but the food was outstanding.

Reviewer: Mr. Alexander Mcgill | Mon 17th Mar 2014


De Ja vu - Rating 5/5

Once again we had the most wonderful stay in Callander meadows. Everything was A+ ,owners,staff,accommodation and food. Until the next time...Thankyou :)

Reviewer: Mrs. Marie Mcculloch | Sun 23rd Feb 2014


Parfait ! - Rating 4/5

Une équipe très sympa, de bons conseils, une chambre bien faite et un petit déjeuner que nous recommandons particulièrement ! Le restaurant au rdc semble très bien et il est utile de réserver. Petit bémol sur la douche qui manquait de pression.

Reviewer: Mr. Ugo Ponchon | Wed 21st Aug 2013


Very nice rooms, great Dinner - Rating 5/5

We had a very agreable stay - rooms are very comfortable, the meal was excellent.

Reviewer: Mrs. Lea Marquart | Thu 15th Aug 2013


Overnight stay. - Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome,rooms spotless and well appointed.Breakfast excellent,well cooked and presented and use of quality ingredients.id not eat in restaurant but by all accounts,it must be very good as it was extremely busy both with locals and tourists.Staff were friendly and professional and would definitely recommend Callander Meadows.

Reviewer: Mrs. Iana Buckley | Sun 11th Aug 2013


Good location Great restaurant - Rating 4/5

Callander Meadows is a family run guest house and restaurant located in the middle of the town with 3 rooms to let, there is a café garden at the back to relax and eat in The room we had was on the small side the other 2 looked bigger but we found it value for money (half the price of a guest house in Edinburgh)and included tea/coffee and freeview tv ,We used it as a base to explore the area and it was a perfect location for that, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurant was excellent the best we ate in in our 10 day stay in Scotland,parking is available on the street outside but can be hard to find at busy weekends, I would stay there again

Response

Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewer: Mr. Patrick Mc Gowan | Thu 25th Jul 2013


Comfortable night! - Rating 4/5

We were greeted with a friendly welcome, and our room was fine - once we'd worked out how to plug the kettle in! Beautiful breakfast; good value for money altogether.

Response

Thank you for your comments we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Nick & Susannah

Reviewer: Mr. Robin Excell | Wed 12th Jun 2013


A little Gem - Rating 5/5

Great place, comfortable, hospitable, obliging, great food and inventive menu a little Gem, want to keep it as our secret place. Go stay and enjoy it you will be in for an absolute treat. However please keep this find to yourself

Response

thank you for your kind words we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Nick, Susannah & all the staff at Callander meadows.

Reviewer: Mr. David Macgregor | Tue 11th Jun 2013


Recommended - Rating 5/5

What a refreshing change: excellent food, comfortable bedroom, and hosts who managed to make us feel like friends, not paying guests. We look forward to returning to Callander Meadows!

Response

Thank you it's nice to have lovely guests.

Reviewer: Mrs. Shelagh Glass | Mon 4th Mar 2013


Return to Callander - Rating 5/5

This was our second visit and it was every bit as good as the first. Different bedroom this time, we had the four poster but it is the food that is the real attraction. Different menu but the same quality and as ever the 'Wave of Deserts' is just beautiful. The wine list is extensive enough and the choice and prices are well considered and good value for money. Nick and Suzannah are considerate hosts and we will be back.

Response

Thank you very much for your comments I will share them with the staff. We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewer: Mr. Alan Foskett | Tue 2nd Oct 2012


excellent home away from home - Rating 4/5

Hospitality is great. Food is excellent - try the fillet of beef - chef knows about fine food and is very helpfull. Location on busy street is ok and close to nature and sights. Room is ok for sleeping - not for spending the day when cold or rainy.

Response

Thank you for your comments we value our customers comments and share them with our staff. We look froward to seeing you again.

Reviewer: Mrs. Jeanine De Zwarte | Sun 2nd Sep 2012


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly reception,and room comfortable,not large, but adequate. Evening meal and breakfast 5 star,(nice porridge).

Response

Thank you for your kind words we will share them with the staff.

Reviewer: Mrs. Rowena Sumner | Fri 15th Jun 2012


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Ideal hotel with great location for access to walking and historical sites in the Trossachs. Excellent restaurant.

Response

Thank you for your review I will share it with the staff

Reviewer: Dr. Sophie Marritt | Mon 11th Jun 2012


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • City Centre
  • Ironing Service
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Massage
  • Bicycle Rent
  • Horse Riding
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat