Reviews

What people are saying about Callander Meadows




Hotel - Rating 4/5

Was beautiful food. Rooms clean warm.

Reviewer:lynsey m | Wed 28th Feb 2018 | 4 months ago


Delightful overnight stop - Rating 4/5

Friendly welcome, delicious cooking, comfortable bed - what more could you want?

Reviewer:Mr R | Wed 7th Feb 2018 | 5 months ago


Most enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We wholly enjoyed our stay at Callander Meadows.Our twin room was comfortable, and had a stunning mountain view.The cuisine at dinner was excellent, and good value, and breakfast was a cut above the usual.

Reviewer:Joan O | Tue 9th Jan 2018 | 6 months ago


lovely Callander - Rating 5/5

Hi Meadows, my wife and myself, had a lovely stay at the Meadows, it was a really lovely big clean room, along with nice people,Nick and Susannah who own and run the Meadows, along with a fab first class breakfast, it was all over far to quickly,all the best for your adventure on ROUTE 66, ....Ronnie &Maria

Response

thank you for your kind words look forward to seeing you at the Jazz festival

Reviewer:Ronald B | Sun 22nd Oct 2017 | 8 months ago


Wedding visit. - Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay Nick and Susannah welcoming hosts Great Breakfasts comfortable rooms and great location. Will be back. Thank you

Reviewer:iirene G | Sun 15th Oct 2017 | 9 months ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on 7th October. Room was amazing. Nice and clean. Friendly staff and food was brilliant.Most certainly be back.

Reviewer:Bruce S | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 9 months ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

An excellent stay with very friendly and helpful staff and owner.The food was delicious.I would recommend this establishment to anyone.

Reviewer:Peter R | Mon 25th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Very nice and serviceminded staff.Great food! The absolute best food we have got in Scotland

Reviewer:katja maj n | Sat 26th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


Nice stay - Rating 4/5

Room was very small but comfy. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. And we loved the live in dog. Helped us in the missing of our own dog back home. Overall, a comfortable stay.

Reviewer:Patrick D | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 11 months ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to,stay,, staff very welcoming, food excellent....

Reviewer:Bob B | Wed 16th Aug 2017 | 11 months ago


Three days in Callander. - Rating 4/5

Very decent B and B accommodation. Breakfast was very good with a wide menu. The shower room is quite small but adequate. There is some hanging space and small drawers in the bedside units but otherwise it's 'live out of the suitcase'. Some routine checks - like making sure milk pods were replaced - were missed. Good bed, quiet room (to the front!).

Reviewer:Ron M | Tue 8th Aug 2017 | 11 months ago


A place to be- Rating 5/5

Very Nice and warm placeAmazing and mouth watering cookingWe will recommend this B&B...and will come back

Response

really glad you had a good time hope to see you again soon

Reviewer:MARCHETTO L | Wed 12th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful stay at Callander Meadows - Rating 5/5

We got married today and stayed at the meadows for our wedding night. We were looked after so well, even when we were late back from our wedding, we were greeted with a warm, welcome.The room was perfect. The breakfast was brought to our room and was excellent.Would highly recommend Callander Meadows.

Response

It was our pleasure so pleased you enjoyed your special day

Reviewer:Mr And Mrs M | Wed 12th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


brilliant find - Rating 5/5

We booked at the last minute, but I'm so glad we did. Clean and interesting space right on the main road in Callander, with a delicious breakfast and very friendly management. Used this as a home base to explore the Trossachs. Would recommend!

Response

Its very kind of you to give such a nice review i will pass your comments on to everyone here.

Reviewer:Lindsay T | Sat 8th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Great hospitality - Rating 5/5

Very good place to stay, great hospitality, the restaurant is very good!

Response

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Jurgen S | Sat 10th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


First Class and classy - Rating 4/5

Well received. Tasteful room with everything we needed.Dinner was superb

Reviewer:g | Fri 9th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Callander Meadows was very welcoming, comfortable and withexcellent food. I would definitely recommend it and plan to return.

Response

thanks for your kind words we look forward to cooking for you again

Reviewer:Kerrien G | Fri 9th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Fine stay - Rating 5/5

Nice stay in a very cosy bedroom.Very good dinner (when the restaurant is open).The crew is very nice.We also enjoyed the countryside, a steamship trip and biking along Loch Katrine.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne-Catherine R | Sun 4th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Homely Accomodation - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for a night and hadvery welcoming hosts .The food in evening restaurant was excellent as was the breakfast.The best I've had on my trip around Scotland.

Reviewer:Geraldine V | Sat 22nd Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


great stay - Rating 5/5

Me and my wife had a great stay the food is first class.I would get a double room the next time staff are all great and fergus the dog is a wee gem.THANKS AGAIN PETER AND EDITH. 5STARS FROM US.

Reviewer:Peter F | Mon 19th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

No complaints. Very comfortable and clean room. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly. Will return!

Response

Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewer:Mr. Alexander B | Thu 13th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Mrs - Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B.Our hosts were very gracious and our breakfast delicious.Our regret is that we stayed there on a night when their restaurant was closed.

Reviewer:Mrs. Diane W | Thu 29th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Little gem - Rating 4/5

This was a one night stopover enroute to The Highlands. We occupied a twin bedded room whilst our son and his wife took the double. The double was spacious and comfortable whilst the twin bedded room was a little tight for room with a "quaint"ensuite. We opted for an evening meal which did not disappoint. Beautifully cooked and presented. All the produce was locally sourced or made in house. The service was excellent and friendly. I would not hesitate to stop here again but I would not have the twin bedded room.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lindy S | Tue 6th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Great food and a lovely room. Warm and welcoming hosts and as a touring cyclist I really appreciated the advice about the roads I was going to be on later in my trip.

Reviewer:ROBERT W | Tue 16th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Very friendly place with excellent cooking - Rating 5/5

We were welcomed friendly and enjoyed or stay in the trossachs. The meals were excellent, including the multiple options at breakfast.The room was fine, although a bit bigger would have been fine for a family of 3.

Reviewer:M | Thu 11th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

The room was comfortable and included an en suite shower / toilet, TV and tea-making facilities.Pleasant view across the valley from the back window.No on-site parking available but I was given a permit to park at the station car park 5 minutes walk away.It was a pity that I couldn't sample the cuisine as they had a private function that night;maybe next time!

Reviewer:Mr. Chris P | Wed 10th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Nice stay- Rating 5/5

Nice rooms, excellent dinner, very friendly staff. Callander Meadows was a really good experience - thanks!

Reviewer:Mr. GabrielA | Fri 5th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

What a fabulous place we were a party of 10 webooked 3 rooms , the rooms are lovely very welcoming placewe were really looked after &breakfast was very good , Great location would deffstay again !!!!Thank you very much

Reviewer:H | Sun 24th Jul 2016 | 1 year ago


Room average but good value - Rating 3/5

One night stay, convenient location, easy parking, room was not great but excellent breakfast and warm welcome. Good value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris H | Fri 22nd Jul 2016 | 1 year ago


great food, ambiance and rooms - Rating 5/5

the quality of hosting, restaurant, and rooms makes the meadows a fantastic place to chill out and entertain customers after a days work. Everything you get is "real"and "personal not "vanilla corporate"

Reviewer:Mr. tim t | Fri 22nd Jul 2016 | 1 year ago


Rainy weekend in Callander - Rating 5/5

Despite the weather we had a very enjoyable weekend spent in comfort in rooms 1,4 snd the very impressive,3. Dinner was lovely too!

Response

Thank you for your kind words we look forward to catering for you again in the future

Reviewer:Mrs. Bryony M | Mon 4th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Stopover at Callander Meadows - Rating 4/5

Our brief stay at this 200 year old town house incentral Callander was certainly pleasant, and our room was comfortable and well appointed. Susannah and her staff were very friendly, and very accommodating when it came to our dog, and for that we are very grateful! Unfortunately we didn't get the chance to eat in the restaurant, but the breakfast selection was varied and very tasty! The only negative experience was the noise from late evening revellers from the pub opposite, congregating in the street outside the property. This was unfortunate, as there was little our hosts could do to address this. Overall a pleasant experience, thank you.

Response

Thank you for your kind words (Sorry about the noise local wedding i think )

Reviewer:P | Tue 7th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


two-night stay - Rating 5/5

very enjoyable stay.lovely comfortable room and excellent food.thank you

Reviewer:Ian T | Sun 15th May 2016 | 2 years ago


lovely stay - Rating 5/5

very friendly owners. well situated, easy to find. Large room, small bathroom. Absolutely great food. We had breakfast and dinner there and the owner is definitely a great chef.

Reviewer:Mr. PASCAL F | Mon 9th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Great Food - Rating 4/5

Really lovely hotel, centrally located &ideal base for shops &walks nearby.Stayed 2 nights with breakfast &evening meal on one night - food was great- Susannah very welcoming along with other hotel staff.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda M | Tue 1st Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay, owners made us very welcome, rooms great, fantastic breakfast. Thank You both.

Response

Thank you very much for your kind words, it was very nice having a happy family atmosphere while your family and friends stayed the weekend. We hope to see you again

Reviewer:B | Thu 19th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Oustanding Stay - Rating 5/5

this has to be the best place we've stayed for friendly welcome hospitality and the food is by far 5 star and above.if you don't go for the stay book the restaurant and eat. fantastic !!!!!!

Response

Thanks for your very kind words we are delighted you enjoy your stay here in beautiful Callander

Reviewer:Mr. stephen m | Mon 9th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Pasamos una noche en Callander Meadows. Las habitaciones son acogedoras y agradables. La cocina es excelente, buena relación calidad-precio. La familia atenta y amable, así como todo el personal. Un lugar maravillosos como punto de partida para excursiones en un paisaje infinito

Response

thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Mrs. Doris M | Tue 1st Sep 2015 | 2 years ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Only stayed one night unfortunately could have stayed longer lovely room,beautiful breakfast and owners very very helpful we asked to have our breakfast a lot earlier and it was no problem would recommend staying here we will be back. Thanks to Nick and Susannah xx

Reviewer:Mandy C | Sun 16th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Wonderful Hotel - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at Callander Meadows many times now.Every time, we have been met with friendliness and great hospitality from Nick and Susannah.The rooms are all beautiful, comfortable and perfectly clean and spotless and the food is superb.The surrounding area is spectacular, and wonderful for walking or cycling, whether you want easy or more challenging routes.We will certainly be booking again.Thank you Nick and Susannah.Teresa and Pete

Reviewer:Mrs. Teresa M | Mon 8th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Callander Meadows 13th May- Rating 4/5

Just home from our stay at the Callander meadows, we thought the hotel was lovely and in an excellent location . The owners Nick and Susannah were very friendy and helpful and we feel that nothing would be too much effort for them, we ate in the hotel restaurant where the food, in particular the steak, was amazing, we would definitely return amd will be recomending the hotel

Reviewer:Miss. ClareSquires| Sat 16th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 4/5

Great food, comfortable beds, friendly hosts.

Reviewer:Mr. Graeme M | Sun 4th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


Couldn\'t do enough - Rating 4/5

My mother and I stayed here as a stopover on our way further north.Our hosts could not have been more friendly and helpful.The room was very comfortable and had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was excellent , looking forward to staying for dinner next time.Thanks again will see you next year.

Response

Thank you for your kind words having guest stay like you and your mother makes doing this job worth while.Look forward to cooking for you on your next visit to Scotland

Reviewer:Vickie H | Wed 12th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Wonderful find! - Rating 5/5

Lovely spot. Amazing dinner at restaurant and delicious breakfast. Nick was very attentive and a delight to talk with. Only suggestion might be including a hairdryer in the rooms. A lovely place. Very welcoming!

Response

Thank you for your kind words we have replaced the hairdryer in the room.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul F | Sat 6th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Very Good! - Rating 4/5

Room and hotel was excellent and directly on Main Street so didn't have to drive all weekend. Breakfast was also very good but didn't eat in hotel in the evening over the weekend as wanted to explore the surrounding area. Room was tidy and spacious, staff were very friendly and helpfull. Would definitely recommend for a weekend/short stay as we did and will be returning in the future maybe as a family next time. (Cons) Very minor but four poster bed a bit squeaky when turning over etc, toilet quite noisy and TV signal initially wasn'tgreat but once mentioned it was sorted out promptly and didn't bother us for a 2 night stay.

Response

Thank you very much for your kind words. We have noted your comments as points to action, thank once again for staying at Callander meadows

Reviewer:Mr. John C | Sun 31st Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Stop off - Rating 3/5

Good location for our requirements, dog friendly, welcoming hosts, food excellent. One or two small details lacking in the room. Mattress on bed unsupportive and uncomfortable.

Reviewer:James N | Wed 20th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Un endroit charmant - Rating 5/5

Très joli endroit qui mêle raffinement et simplicité. Un accueil chaleureux, une cuisine excellente, et une petite ville pleine de charme. Si vous passez par là:arrêtez-vous un peu, vous ne regretterez pas!

Reviewer:Mr. Arnaud M | Fri 15th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Great! - Rating 5/5

Great place, great town, great hosts, great food! What's not to love? Located in the heart of town. Lots to see and do. We stayed for two nights and wished we'd been able to stay for a week. Meeting Nick and Susannah was one of the highlights.

Response

thank you very much for your kind words

Reviewer:Ms. Shelley B | Mon 4th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Good food - Rating 3/5

Typical B &B rooms, a bit small and old fashioned. Dinner and breakfast were pretty good though.

Reviewer:Mr. Doug Y | Sun 27th Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


1 night in callander - Rating 5/5

Our stay in callander was a very good experience for our day in scotland. We slept in a confortable and quiet room and we had dinner in the restaurant. the cooking was brillant and for a reasonnable price for the quality. the garden behind the hotel is charming.

Response

We are glad you enjoyed your stay thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Perisse D | Thu 10th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Our room was charming with a four poster bed and huge walk-in shower. The owners Nick and Susannah are very friendly and welcoming hosts. Food is superb. Wish we could have enjoyed two nights of such warm hospitality and excellent cuisine.Unfortunately we had to cut our weekend short due to work commitments. Would highly recommend this wee gem of a place! We will definitely stay there again.

Response

Thank you for your kind words look forward to you visiting againNick, Susannah & all the staff at Callander Meadows

Reviewer:Mrs. Alison L | Sat 28th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


adi - Rating 3/5

good nights rest,food is first class superb

Reviewer:Mr. Adrian B | Wed 11th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


one night stay after long days walking - Rating 4/5

Nice room, a bit noisier our the from than the back but not bad. rooms nice. Shame there is no bath

Reviewer:Dr. Moira W | Sat 24th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Callander Meadows - Rating 5/5

The rooms were excellent but the food was outstanding.

Reviewer:Mr. Alexander M | Mon 17th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


De Ja vu - Rating 5/5

Once again we had the most wonderful stay in Callander meadows. Everything was A+ ,owners,staff,accommodation and food. Until the next time...Thankyou :)

Reviewer:Mrs. Marie M | Sun 23rd Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


Parfait ! - Rating 4/5

Une équipe très sympa, de bons conseils, une chambre bien faite et un petit déjeuner que nous recommandons particulièrement !Le restaurant au rdc semble très bien et il est utile de réserver.Petit bémol sur la douche qui manquait de pression.

Reviewer:Mr. Ugo P | Wed 21st Aug 2013 | 4 years ago


Very nice rooms, great Dinner- Rating 5/5

We had a very agreable stay - rooms are very comfortable, the meal was excellent.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lea M | Thu 15th Aug 2013 | 4 years ago


Overnight stay. - Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome,rooms spotless and well appointed.Breakfast excellent,well cooked and presented and use of quality ingredients.id not eat in restaurant but by all accounts,it must be very good as it was extremely busy both with locals and tourists.Staff were friendly and professional and would definitely recommend Callander Meadows.

Reviewer:Mrs. Iana B | Sun 11th Aug 2013 | 4 years ago


Good location Great restaurant - Rating 4/5

Callander Meadows is a family run guest house and restaurant located in the middle of the town with 3 rooms to let, there is a café garden at the back to relax and eat in The room we had was on the small side the other 2 looked bigger but we found it value for money (half the price of a guest house in Edinburgh)and included tea/coffee and freeview tv ,We used it as a base to explore the area and it was a perfect location for that, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurant was excellent the best we ate in in our 10 day stay in Scotland,parking is available on the street outside but can be hard to find at busy weekends, I would stay there again

Response

Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewer:Mr. Patrick Mc G | Thu 25th Jul 2013 | 4 years ago


Comfortable night! - Rating 4/5

We were greeted with a friendly welcome, and our room was fine - once we'd worked out how to plug the kettle in!Beautiful breakfast;good value for money altogether.

Response

Thank you for your comments we look forward to seeing you again in the future.Nick & Susannah

Reviewer:Mr. Robin E | Wed 12th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


A little Gem - Rating 5/5

Great place, comfortable, hospitable, obliging, great food and inventive menu a little Gem, want to keep it as our secret place. Go stay and enjoy it you will be in for an absolute treat. However please keep this find to yourself

Response

thank you for your kind words we look forward to seeing you again in the future.Nick, Susannah & all the staff at Callander meadows.

Reviewer:Mr. David M | Tue 11th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Recommended - Rating 5/5

What a refreshing change:excellent food, comfortable bedroom, and hosts who managed to make us feel like friends, not paying guests.We look forward to returning to Callander Meadows!

Response

Thank you it's nice to have lovely guests.

Reviewer:Mrs. Shelagh G | Mon 4th Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


Return to Callander - Rating 5/5

This was our second visit and it was every bit as good as the first. Different bedroom this time, we had the four poster but it is the food that is the real attraction. Different menu but the same quality and as ever the 'Wave of Deserts' is just beautiful.The wine list is extensive enough and the choice and prices are well considered and good value for money. Nick and Suzannah are considerate hosts and we will be back.

Response

Thank you very much for your comments I will share them with the staff. We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewer:Mr. Alan F | Tue 2nd Oct 2012 | 5 years ago


excellent home away from home - Rating 4/5

Hospitality is great. Food is excellent - try the fillet of beef - chef knows about fine food and is very helpfull. Location on busy street is ok and close to nature and sights. Room is ok for sleeping - not for spending the day when cold or rainy.

Response

Thank you for your comments we value our customers comments and share them with our staff. We look froward to seeing you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jeanine De Z | Sun 2nd Sep 2012 | 5 years ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly reception,and room comfortable,not large, but adequate.Evening meal and breakfast 5 star,(nice porridge).

Response

Thank you for your kind words we will share them with the staff.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rowena S | Fri 15th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Ideal hotel with great location for access to walking and historical sites in the Trossachs. Excellent restaurant.

Response

Thank you for your review I will share it with the staff

Reviewer:Dr. Sophie M | Mon 11th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • City Centre
  • Ironing Service
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Massage
  • Bicycle Rent
  • Horse Riding
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat